You’ve Got to be Kidding Me!!

image

OK people, this is not so much a post, as it is an expression of incredulous disbelief at the idiocy that abounds in some treatment circles. And I just really need to vent. Bear with me here. I began an outpatient program today as part of my aftercare treatment plan to my sojourn in Arizona. I received my skills handbook along with more paperwork and handouts than I can possibly manage. Aaannnyway…..I was thumbing through my handbook and my eye was drawn to a simple exercise titled “Distract Yourself With Pleasurable Activities” in the section under Basic Distress Tolerance Skills.  The exercise was to choose activities listed under “The Big List of Pleasurable Activities”  (yes, that is what it is titled) that resonated with me as my go-to distractions for when I began to ruminate or obsess over something disturbing or anxiety producing.

image

OK…I can understand that..as silly as the whole ” Big List” thing is. That’s not what I had an issue with. It was the content as I got almost to the end of this extensive two page, four column list. Note the highlights….

image

ARE YOU FREAKING KIDDING ME?!?!?!?!

Sorry…I really have nothing else to say about this. I am literally speechless. 🙄

16 thoughts on “You’ve Got to be Kidding Me!!

  1. Whoa. This is… yeah, I’m speechless, too. Now, Leigh, if you have any pain, go ahead and dull it with some masturbation or fuck your neighbour you like so much. It is OK – it is on the Big List of Pleasurable Activities. Ignoring the fact that you are a sufferer of Sex Addiction through your life partner (who the heck handed you this stupid book?!), it is unhealthy for just about anybody to suggest to dull / distract by sex! Isn’t this UNHEALTHY COPING MECHANISM exactly what we are praying our husbands’ get out of?!?! For F’s sake.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Um, I am so confused. This definitely goes into the “one size DOES NOT fit all” category. I am trying to figure out what kind of outpatient program those options would be appropriate for? Here, let’s see if in your torment, we can turn YOU into a sex addict. Let’s just medicate everything with sexual activity… I mean, it’s okay if you really like the person. Oh my. I hope you can quickly find a more appropriate alternative to this program. xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hysterical. They left out “Have sex with someone you despise tremendously” and “Anything at least as good as really tight pants.”

    Thanks ladies, this thread was a laugh. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

