Beautiful Savior

image

Every  Easter, for the last twenty five years, an amazing woman I know has composed beautiful music for our church’s Easter Cantata. Tonight was the final performance Of the final year and it was the largest choir yet, made up of everyday normal congregants from all over town and a few from out of state. This year the program was titled Beautiful Savior and included her arrangement of that lovely hymn. Over the years, the choirs have ranged in size with this year’s being the largest at 175 members.  Every year, there is usually a song which I find particularly lovely or which resonates with me. This year, my daughter had a beautiful solo and I expected her song to be my favorite. It was definitely my favorite part of the program and she sang so beautifully. But the song which touched my soul this year is one called Because He Lives. After all the heartbreak and trauma of this year, after the betrayal and pain, after the cacophony of lies, deception, and shattered trust….the words of this song brought me a sense of peace. I know my Savior lives. I know He loves me. I know He will bear my burdens. I am trying so, so hard to have the faith and trust to let Him.

Because He Lives
Because He lives, because He rose in mighty triumph from the grave
I put my trust in Him, and seek to follow Him in faith
Because He lives
Because He lives, I shall find the strength to stand against the
tempter’s power.
He is my refuge and defense in every troubled hour
Because He lives
Because He lives, there is no task that I cannot endure
I bear no heartache that His tender mercy cannot cure
Because He lives

 

Because He lives, I can bear whatever burden may be mine
I am encircled in the arms of love divine because He lives
Because He lives, He will banish every shadow of my pain
Every sorrow will be swallowed up in Him
For in His hand is healing for the weary soul
This I know because He lives

 

Because He lives, my heart is filled with peace amid a world of fear
And through the blindness of the night, in Him I rest secure
Because He lives
Because He lives I will fear no darkness, because He lives I will walk
in light
Because He lives I will praise His kindness, because He lives hope
shines ever bright.
Because He lives I will seek His righteousness, because He lives I’ll
follow where He leads
Because He lives I shall conquer even death, and I shall live because
He lives!

 

Because He lives I will rejoice in Christ and glorify His name
And with the willing voice of gratitude proclaim: my Savior lives!
Because He lives He will vanish every shadow of my pain
Every sorrow will be swallowed up in Him
For in His hand is healing for the weary soul
This I know, because He lives.

~words and music by Sally DeFord

I am grateful that I can still have those moments when I feel encircled in the arms of His love and I am trying to have the faith that His tender mercy will indeed cure my heartache and swallow my sorrow. I wish this for all of you who suffer too. May you be blessed on this Easter and always.

Leave a Reply

