Laughs, Giggles, Guffaws

Day 4

Laughter

I don’t think it is possible to truly, deeply laugh and not be happy. I love, love, love the laughter of babies and little children because it is so absolutely genuine. And sometimes so unexpected. I honestly feel that the happiest sound in the world is children laughing.

And laughter is good for you! From the website helpguide.com:

  • Laughter relaxes the whole body. A good, hearty laugh relieves physical tension and stress, leaving your muscles relaxed for up to 45 minutes after.
  • Laughter boosts the immune system.
  • Laughter decreases stress hormones and increases immune cells and infection-fighting antibodies, thus improving your resistance to disease.
  • Laughter triggers the release of endorphins, the body’s natural feel-good chemicals. Endorphins promote an overall sense of well-being and can even temporarily relieve pain.
  • Laughter protects the heart. Laughter improves the function of blood vessels and increases blood flow, which can help protect you against a heart attack and other cardiovascular problems.

And now, an admission. . . I snort when I laugh. It’s horrible and embarrassing. It sounds rude and unrefined and I can’t help it. My grandchildren all think it’s hilarious. My 7 year-old grandson has lately been making himself snort when he laughs, then pronouncing proudly, “I sound just like Grandma!” 😳 Ah, well, given a choice, I believe there are worse things a grandma could be remembered for. . .

Anyway, my point is this: Laugh much, laugh often… Heartily, deeply and from the belly. It’s healthy, it’s fun, it’s contagious and it makes you and those around you happy.

Even, or maybe especially, if you snort…

Leave a Reply

