Time Out

img_0330

Will is going hunting this weekend. He will be in the mountains with my son-in-law and grandson. I am fine with that. However, next week, I am leaving for a couple of weeks to be with my son and his family. Will will be here. By himself. Alone. I have been telling myself that: I should be passed worrying. He has been sober for over a year. I shouldn’t be triggered by the distance. I am over-reacting and being unreasonable. So far, it’s not working.

The truth is that I am worried. I don’t know if he will still be sober when he is left on his own. Because I still don’t trust him. I don’t. And I don’t know when, or even if, trust will ever be possible. I certainly can’t just decide to trust him 100% all over again after all he’s done. It is not possible for me to look at him yet and not see the deceit and filth that was his life. It is still a process. I know I am impatient, especially with myself, but this takes time. A LOT of time.

What I am not doing is beating myself up. I started to really get upset with myself for not being able to just take this in stride. But then I remembered…oh, yeah…I didn’t do this to me…Will did this to me. It is not unreasonable or unwarranted. It is not my responsibility to be perfectly ok with leaving my known sex addict husband alone for two weeks, unsupervised, a block away from a massage parlor and liquor store, with full internet access, and all the time in the world, to do whatever he wants with whomever he want, with no one to be accountable to. Whew….now that I’ve written that out, I think I can let it go. Because, really, there is nothing I can do about it. He will or he won’t act out. That will be entirely his choice. He will lie to me, or he won’t…again his choice. He has a poly next month. If he makes a poor choice then, that’s ok…I’ll be ok. I’ll re-file for divorce and he knows this. And if he chooses acting out over me, then I will be better off. And if he chooses to stay sober, then he and we will be much farther ahead in our recovery and on a firmer path. That, too, goes a long way in establishing that all-important trust.

So, in the meantime, I will breathe deep, I will exhale fully. I will let go and let God. I will trust in myself and my own healing as always. And I will be OK. Thanks readers…I needed this little time out. 😏

4 thoughts on “Time Out

  1. Thank you for this post. I have the same thoughts and feelings when I leave my husband alone for any amount of time. If I start to worry too much I remind myself of Step 1. I am powerless over him and his addiction. If he chooses to act out, I will trust my own instincts enough to know. And I have the strength to follow through with the consequences of this boundary violation. It makes me feel empowered to think this way and allows me to focus on whatever it is that I am doing. It is a process and a practice. I am not always good at it but I try. It’s the best any of us can do under the circumstances. I don’t see myself trusting him again for a very long time. Sad reality.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The whole letting go mentality is something that is a constant work in progress for me. Like you, I have to remind myself that I have no control over him. It is tiresome, I admit, but I know it is keeping my sanity intact!😜

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Just trying to trust a plain ole run of mill ordinary cheating asshole husband is hard. I can’t imagine what it’s like for you and some others to trust a sex addict. I really never thought of the difference until CrazyKat educated me. Please have a great visit and let the chips fall where they will. Your strength has grown with each post and you will survive no matter what comes up.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

