Gratitude Ain’t Just An Attitude, It’s a Way Of Life

IMG_0393.PNG

We made it through Thanksgiving…no, no…actually, Thanksgiving was really wonderful. Will came out and joined me and we had a lovely time. I picked him up from the airport and it was GOOD to see him. I actually MISSED him! And I didn’t have that weird uh-oh-something-isn’t-quite-right feeling. It wasn’t even a passing thought. Does this mean that all is fine and dandy in sobriety land? Oh, no. Not by a long shot.

You see, a year ago, I was visiting this same son and daughter-in-law when Will came out to visit as well. Only, we were in a completely different place in our relationship. He was still big time into the manipulation and gas lighting although he was not acting out in his addiction. While there, he snuck my journal and read it, hacked my phone and read my texts to friends, and lied continued to lie/conceal things he had done. It was during this time last year, when my doctor’s office called to tell me my test results for an STD were positive. So…there were definitely triggers. A LOT of triggers.  But, oh, what a difference in how they affected me. And my reaction. And my behavior. And my emotion! I was able to instantly recognize a trigger when I took the grandkids to the pond to feed the ducks, just as I did on my last visit. As I approached the same bench on which I sat listening to my doctor tell me my test results last year, I felt a cold sadness coming over me. I clearly heard the words and felt the pain of that moment. I took a deep breath. And in the next moment, it was gone. I quickly realized that I was healthy, I had become stronger than that bad moment and could deal with the aftermath. I was grateful for where I am now and the people in my life that I love. AND THAT WAS IT!  In the next moment we were throwing bread crumbs to the ducks and making silly duck calls and then continued our walk home. I did not even think about it again until I said my prayers and gave thanks for the healing I had been blessed with.  The many other triggers in the three weeks I was there were so fleeting that I scarcely remember what they were. Something Will did caused a panic in me and I lashed out with a snarky remark…and very quickly apologized for it. He, also, realized what he had done to trigger my panic and apologized. Then he held me.and he kissed me. And he told me, as he does so much now, how very much he loves me and is grateful for me.

We have our moments. Believe me, when we got “home”to our tiny little trailer to find it without heat or hot water in 36 degree weather, it was not a good moment. But it was also not a moment where either of us got upset with one another, or engaged in any blame. We simply turned the electric blanket on high and tried to stay warm enough to sleep til morning  so we could find and fix the problem in the daylight. Trust me when I say, this is a completely different dynamic in our relationship. It feels healthy, and loving and like a true team effort. We are now two people in this marriage, both equally committed and both giving 100%.  I would not have believed it possible a year ago in sometimes have to remind myself that we are just 18-months post D-day. I know there is So. Much. More to do to get where we want to be…and NEED to be. But I am happy and grateful that we have come this far. I know we both still have a lot to learn about ourselves and each other and our relationship, but I have so much hope for our future.

I really have a true spirit of Thanksgiving and appreciate all that I have been blessed with. I pray that, no matter what our circumstance, or where we are in our recovery process, we can take the time to be truly, deeply thankful for all that we have. I pray that through this Christmas season, we can focus on the love and peace of the season and find joy in our circumstances, no matter what they may be. I love each of you and the amazing healing and support that this amazing community has provided me. I would not be here…as many of you know…without your outpouring of love, friendship, guidance and wisdom. Happiest of Holidays to everyone. I will check back in before Christmas! 🎄

 

5 thoughts on “Gratitude Ain’t Just An Attitude, It’s a Way Of Life

  1. Leigh, how have you managed to accept and forgive? How have you been able to get over the trauma and get back ‘together’ with someone who has been to the depths of depravity with the scum of the earth? How?

    My trauma has destroyed my sexuality. I have an intense disgust for and horror of sex now. When I’m asked if I want to heal, I cannot imagine ever healing enough to want sex again. In fact, if healing means having sex again then, no, I don’t want to ‘heal’ Sick, I know.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, Jangled…I know and I understand. Let me first say that I have not even approached the sexual stage of recovery yet. We are still working on intimacy. That is completely separate and different from the actual act of sex. I have no desire in that arena yet either. In fact, even the thought of that repulses me. I am trusting in the fact that I truly love Will and he is my best friend. He always has been that. We previously used sex for closeness. That was backwards. Closeness must come before sex is meaningful. I am trusting that desire for sex will return when I feel close enough to trust Will enough with my body. I am not there yet. Time does not heal all wounds but it is a great buffer from the raw pain of injury. I am ok with allowing as much time as I need and fortunately, so is Will. I have seen great progress in him and in myself so I have great hope. Don’t lose faith and don’t lose hope dear friend. You will know what you can and cannot do when it is right for you.. trust yourself! **HUGS!** ❤️

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

