All In The Family

IMG_0485

I haven’t blogged in awhile. Not because everything is great, not because everything is terrible. But just because of everything. The everydayness, the everythoughtness, the everymemoryness, the every-everythingness of what is my life now. Now that I know. Now that my children, my oldest grandchildren, some other family members and close friends, all know.  I am in a sort of a limbo state wondering what is next.

In the meantime, it has become glaringly apparent that Will’s addictions and past behaviors have had deep and profound repercussions within our family. The thing with addiction and recovery is that it is never, ever just about one person or one behavior or even one addiction really. There are so many minute little pieces that fit, sometimes grudgingly, into the puzzle of one’s dysfunctional life. What happened to someone, or to someone they love, or perhaps something they witnessed, or a multitude of other scenarios can cause trauma. Trauma that is not dealt with is so often stuffed down, or medicated, or manifested thru more dysfunctional behavior–like addiction. Causing more trauma. It is a difficult and sometimes a lifelong project to break the cycle.

My oldest daughter had a very, VERY, drama-filled adolescence. Much of it of her own making, but some of which, looking back, was spurred on by her wanting the attention of a distant sex obsessed narcissistic father and an insecure preoccupied fearful mother. Both of whom drank to excess, Will as an alcoholic and me as an enabler, and had NO idea how to deal with a strong-willed, smart, independent teenager. After “Ann’s” many rebellions thru running away, drug use, boys, and utter hatred spewed toward both Will and I, she managed to graduate from High School and land a full ride scholarship to the State University. A full 3 hour drive from home, I admit, it was somewhat of a relief to have her out of the house and away from influencing our younger two kids. Will and I quit drinking ( I did, he said he did and lied…shocker), He confessed his “minor” and infrequent infidelities (not all of them it turned out…shocker) and recommitted to our marriage during this time. We moved again and tried to look forward and start fresh.

Ann lasted one year at school. She announced she was bringing someone home to meet us. She showed up with a tall, skinny, kinda goofy-looking guy with big ears. She had been dating him for a little over a month, I think, at the time. And she was pregnant. She was 19. She moved in with Mickey (the ears, sorry 😏) and he got a job as a waiter in their college town. Our first grand baby was born and it was love at first site. As time passed, we learned that Mickey was an alcoholic and drug addict…and he was abusive. We drove the now six hours more than once to save Ann and the baby and bring them home to safety while Mickey sobered up. Ann continued to play this game…for eight long years. When we discovered that Ann, too, was an active drug abuser and suicidal, we sued for custody of our then eight year old granddaughter and her little one year old brother. I remember arguing with Will, only convincing him to take the kids because if not for us, they would have gone into foster care. No grandchild of Will’s was going to be a ward of the state! After two years of rehab and then, blessedly, a divorce from now incarcerated felon Mickey, Ann began to make a new life for her and our two sweet grandchildren. She then married a great guy who adopted these kids and loves them so very much. They together have a third. Ann is now a licensed therapist. And an alcoholic. In perpetual relapse. And continually trying to deal with her now difficult teenage daughter. Who has come home drunk, has run away, has boy issues. . .and is currently, for the last week, in a behavior mental health facility for an attempted suicide after being beaten up by her current boyfriend. The same one I was in. She is 17.

Her confidante and the person she feels comfortable talking to the most? Will. She knows some of what his addictions were and what he has done. She also knows and has seen how he has changed over the last almost 2 years (D-day is May 17, 2015).  Ann’s go-to person in crisis? Me. She does not comprehend how I was able to cope with all the crapweasle things she did as a teenager. She is having such a difficult time trying to cope with the same crapweasle behavior from her teenager now. And she is desperately trying to stay sober while doing so. All I can tell her is to rely on God and surrender it. There is no magic pass. There is no passing go and collecting money. These is no going around or over or under…only going through.

I have two other grown children. They have no addictions. . .that I know of. I have eight other grandchildren. I pray hard for all of them that thy NEVER have to experience this brutal, unrelenting trial of addiction and abuse. I want the cycle to end. I hate that addiction is such a prevalent problem and that it festers and grows in silence and fear. I hate that families, everywhere, everyday, are torn apart by its effects and fallout. I hate that my family has been so devasted by it…because of Will…and his parents. And who knows beyond that. All I know is that it needs to stop. All of it. For our own health, for the good of marriages and relationships and families everywhere.

9 thoughts on “All In The Family

  1. That sounds like such a load, Leigh. And yes. There is so often more than one addiction, or mental/personality disorder. And most definitely far-reaching ripple effects.

    My brother is an alcoholic. He never used the word until quite recently. Actually, I have had to go no contact and I don’t even know if he uses the word now. But he has finally admitted this is what he is. One of the problems is that he also has a personality disorder, undiagnosed. And I saw it years ago. Some of the people around him are starting to see it now. It’s a long (sadly familiar) story. And a warning tale for my children. We have talked addiction in this family always. There are people on their father’s side who also struggle with substance-abuse-probably-addiction. In fact, I now think it a rare bird indeed that doesn’t have this kind of thing touch their life.

    Wishing you and your family strength and grace as you move through these difficult journeys.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you my dear friend. Is it, sadly, so very common to find multiple addiction and abuse and personality issues within the family circle. It seems the families that are not touched by it all in some way are either profoundly blessed or incredibly good at denial. 😏 I pray for you too my friend and thank you for your sweet words.

      Like

  2. I pray that God guides and keeps you both, as well as all your children with spouses and grandkids safe, and that their faith in Him grows and strengthens them to overcome whatever come their way

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Grace and blessings upon you. I am delighted to come upon your site. Not because of the suffering of you and your family, but that I have found someone else travelling a journey similar to mine who has found the words to express what I am not always able to. My husband and I have been in recovery from the effects of his sex addiction for two years now. And like your family, our daughter was greatly impacted by growing up in our home which manifested in self harm tendencies. But we are all healing. Hold on to hope.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! It is a strange thing to find comfort in recognizing another’s pain, but that is the nature of this horrible addiction and betrayal dynamic. Blessings to you and your family as well. May God’s grace and comfort be with you in your healing process. ❤️

      Like

Leave a Reply

